Afghan — The Effect of Hate Crimes

A friend of mine shared this on her blog, and I wanted to share it with you.  It is a short film called “Afghan” and explores how one victim and his friend try to overcome the situation through art and humor.  Despite all their attempts the atmosphere is somber.  Hate is never really funny even if we try to use humor as a coping mechanism.  Art, like this film, that address issues of hate and injustice help us to build compassion and to think about the effect our actions have on others.  I hope to live a life full of love, because hate, like darkness, can only be expelled through light.

When a thought of war comes, oppose it by a stronger thought of peace. A thought of hatred must be destroyed by a more powerful thought of love. ~‘Abdu’l-Bahá

So with out further ado, the film. 

2 thoughts on “Afghan — The Effect of Hate Crimes

  1. Wow… this touched me in so many ways.

    I grew up in primarily catholic community – I was the only muslim girl for miles. I was the only person with a darker complexion for that matter as well. The words “Go Home Arab” were a reoccuring motif in my life – it hurts because America is my home. It got worst after 9/11 but hate is hate no matter what day or age you are living in.

    If I’ve learned one thing its this – love is so unpredictably powerful – it can shake the world, and it can change the way people see things. Use love and light to illuminate the truth.

    Nice Video!

    – Naturalsublimity.wordpress.com

    • I am so glad that this film spoke to you, though I am sad that you had to experience that prejudice. I am glad that you have such a positive attitude though and that it has reinforced the power of love in your heart. Thank you so much for this comment. It warmed my heart.

Leave a Reply

